Hindsight is 20/10

This topic has 4 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 6 years, 3 months ago by Lawrence Meyers.

• Author
       Chelsea
      Participant

Guys, I got played.

A little back story is helpful here. Remember when Mason gave me the Rubik’s cube in the parking lot the night we thought Joyce was dead? I took it home, set it on the shelf next to the other two, and mixed them up on accident. The cube I had been playing with for the last several months was not the cube from Mason. A plant in Slack that I let myself believe wasn’t a plant (yea, I’m pretty sure about that now) asked me if I was playing with the Rubik’s cube from Mason and how fast I could solve it. At the time, I was unaware that I had mixed up the cubes. Looking back, that was a set up to see how full of shit I was. It appears that I was very full of shit, but I didn’t know it.

Yesterday I pulled a cube off of the shelf in a jet lag fueled, unable to sleep state and realized that I had mixed up the cubes. The cube from Mason had been unsolvable. There’s probably a metaphor in here somewhere about things we can’t solve, can’t know, can’t understand that I’m refusing to accept and/or acknowledge, but for now, this is what I know. I was played, and he was checking me to see if I knew by asking how many seconds it took me to solve an unsolvable cube. It was a set up – a test. I I didn’t figure it out until I spent 3 hours fighting with this cube before entering it into a program that told me it was not in line with any algorithm. So, here we are. I took the cube apart, reassembled it, and was able to solve it in an “appropriate” amount of time.

So, Mason, at the MSE you asked me what I wanted from you. How about a Rubik’s cube that doesn’t need to be reassembled before it can be solved, for starters?

Kevin Hsu
      Participant