FB Post – 7/31

This topic has 10 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 6 years, 8 months ago by Blondie.

• Author
       Kortney
      Participant

Quote –
      “You will never reach your destination if you stop and throw stones at every dog that barks” – Winston Churchill

Original Art –

Agitate Crowd Surrounding a High Equestrian Monument, by Umberto Boccioni

Anonymous
      Inactive

I usually have very little to add to these posts because I’m not very good with art history.

However I happen to be a tremendous fan of Winston Churchill’s and this quote in particular.

Churchill was a brilliant tactician and much of Europe not being decimated (or currently speaking German) is owed to him.

And he was charming as all hell. They legit wanted him to surrender to the Nazi’s and Churchill managed to convince all of Parliament to dig in and fight the Nazi war machine. That’s a big freaking deal.

One of the ways the Nazis tried to defeat Britain was by inviting them into smaller skirmishes that the Nazi’s knew they could win. Splinter and fracture Britain’s forces. Churchill’s way around that was to simply ignore them. Head straight to the arms depot, or simply dig in. You know, ignore the barking dogs. Reach the destination.

So what does the quote mean? It’s all about focus. You must focus on your destination, your desire (what you lust after) and ignore the distractions. If you spread yourself too thin and give attention to every barking dog, every shiny toy, every new allegiance option… you will never succeed.

There is another fun Churchill quote though that I think also applies to us as a community…

“If you’re going through hell, then keep going.”

Anonymous
      Inactive

Oh and Jack Black has huge tits in the background of this and I don’t know if that’s relevant or not.

Nacho Big Boobs

Lia
      Participant

@thebuz It is. It always is.

Kevin
      Participant