FB Post 5/23/17

This topic has 6 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 6 years, 11 months ago by Brad Ruwe.

• Author
       Cristen
      Participant

Forgive me if this has already been started and let me know so we can merge but I wanted to get a discussion going about today’s painting and quote.

Also this is long as heck. Sorrynotsorry.

Quote was from Henry Adams “Chaos was the law of Nature, Order was the dream of man.” It’s from the Education of Henry Adams, his autobiography regarding his journey towards self-education beyond traditional schooling through relationships and experiences. I’m not an expert on this book so if anyone has more insight I’d like to hear it, but on face value I’d say it’s being used to demonstrate that no matter how we try to make sense of what we’re seeing or believing, chaos is the natural state we’re going to return to. Maybe we need to rely on what we know from experience and about each other to get through it.

The painting I can do a bit better on. Another (the third I believe) Jacques-Louis David. “The Intervention of the Sabine Women.” (Thank you @mkarrett for finding that title so quickly.)

Let’s talk about early Rome without getting into too too much clunky history, ok? This story actually comes from mythology so I am not sure beyond the many art works about it that there’s specific source material verifying it.

Rome was founded by Romulus and his (mostly male) followers. Eager to spread throughout the area and populate, he tried to negotiate for wives for his men amongst the local Sabines, and was refused. What followed you will hear referred to as the “rape of the Sabine women,” an act that was probably a calculated abduction/coercion by the Romans to lure the Sabine women away from their families and relocate to Rome proper.