Cycle of Abuse

This topic has 13 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by Anonymous.

• Author
       Twan Intarathuch
      Participant

I’m a newbie and I haven’t experienced the sort of trauma and abuse that a lot of you have been subjected to/are still carrying, so maybe what I’m saying is a little out of line.

I’m a blunt person so I’m gonna come out and say it.

The system/ the game seems to rely a lot on the cycle of abuse…

This scares me.

Kimberly Stewart
      Participant

@genghistwan: I’m trying to figure this out… I personally didn’t experience anything that I’d consider to have been a cycle of abuse from the Creators. If you are referring to things that occurred within the story, I can see this, but I’d remind that the genre we’re dealing in is likely categorized as Psychological Horror, so some violence, fear, manipulation, etc. is to be expected, in my opinion. If you mean the community was a toxic thing, I do realize there are some very strong opinions on this front. My take is that every relationship in life has potential positives and negatives that must be navigated from time to time. Some of us had a really positive experience throughout, some not so much. I suppose some of that can be chalked up to perspective or individual personalities or probably a variety of other complex variables.

It’s a really delicate topic and I’m trying to be as diplomatic as I can while still being true to my own beliefs. I’d like to understand how you’ve come to have these concerns. Please help me understand your perspective.

Twan Intarathuch
      Participant

@electrichippo

I don’t believe that this community is toxic. There is some discontent sometimes, but there’s bound to be some of that. I just thought that the narrative seemed to use the cycle of abuse as a guideline to how to psychologically keep players coming back for more and it scares me if I’m being totally honest.